Sunday, December 21, 2014

Rafique heads Atletico de Kolkata to glory

Injury-time strike breaks Kerala Blasters’ hearts
           Mohammed Rafique nodded home the most important goal in the Indian Super League as Atletico de Kolkata won the inaugural edition. The injury-time goal from the substitute broke Kerala Blasters’ hearts. 
Full list of award winners at 2014 ISL 
*Champions - Atletico de Kolkata (Rs 8 crores prize money)
*Runners-up - Kerala Blasters (Rs 4 crores)
*Hero of the final - Mohammed Rafique (Atletico de Kolkata)
*Fair play - Delhi Dynamos
*Most exciting player of the league - Luis Garcia (Atletico de Kolkata)
*Fittest player of the league - Jan Stohanzl (Mumbai City FC)
*Goal of the league - Kostas Katsouranis (FC Pune City)
*Golden Glove - Jan Seda (FC Goa)
*Golden Boot - Elano Blumer (Chennaiyin FC) - 8 goals
*Emerging player of the league - Sandesh Jhingan (Kerala Blasters)
*Hero of the league - Iain Hume (Kerala Blasters)

Saturday, December 20, 2014

IRDA slaps Rs.31 lakh fine on Canara HSBC

The Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority (IRDA) has slapped a penalty of Rs.31 lakh on Canara HSBC Oriental Bank of Commerce Life Insurance Company.

IRDA has penalised Canara HSBC Oriental Bank of Commerce Life Insurance Company on charges including, delay in payment of claims, non-adherence to product specifications and violating licensing of corporate agents norms.

Mid-Year Economic Review projects 5.5 per cent growth

 The Mid-Year Economic Analysis for the current year, tabled in Parliament by Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley,  projects 2014-15 growth will be 5.5 per cent. India faces challenges that are mostly domestic.India grew at sub-5 per cent for the last two years. Growth bounced to 5.7 per cent in the April-June quarter before slipping again to 5.3 per cent in the July-September quarter. Chief  Economic Advisor (CEA) Arvind Subramanian told reporters after the Review '' What we are yet to see decisively is private investment picking up''
                                          Dr. Subramanian said that the rupee is weakenng. It is weakening against the dollar, which, he clarified, is strengthening against the other major currencies. Against a broader basket of currencies, the rupee has become stronger by 10 per cent since September, 2013.The CEA  said that inflation has come down dramatically for four reasons — policy actions by the Reserve Bank and the government; declining agricultural prices; declining oil prices; and the economy growing slower than its potential.