Wednesday, December 23, 2015

22nd December

In India, the day December 22 has been declared as the National Mathematics Day. The declaration was made by Prime Minister of India, during the inaugural ceremony of the birth of Shaswat Mishra held at the Odisha University Centenary Auditorium on 26 February 2012. Dr Manmohan Singh also announced that the year 2012 CE would be celebrated as the National Mathematics Year.National Mathematics Day to celebrate birth anniversary of great Indian autodidact Mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan. This year, it will be the 128th birth anniversary of Srinivasa Ramanujan.

AIFF Awards

Midfielder Eugeneson Lyngdoh ended Sunil Chettri’s two-year hold on the AIFF men’s Player of the Year trophy, while in-form striker Bala Devi was chosen for the women’s honour for a second successive time in the AIFF Annual General Body Meeting.Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Bala Devi awarded with AIFF Player of the Year and Woman Footballer of the Year respectively on 20th December 2015 while Pritam Kotal awarded with AIFF Emerging Player of the Year.

Indian Premier Tennis League (IPTL) 2015

OUE Singapore Slammers won Indian Premier Tennis League (IPTL) after defeating Micromax Indian Aces. Ivan Dodig and Belinda Bencic awarded with Most Valuable Player in men’s and women’s category respectively.The Micromax Indian Aces, with 8 eight wins out of 11 this season, and the OUE Singapore Slammers, last on the league table in first edition, but finishing a strong second this season, played out some exciting tennis as thousands of tennis fans cheered on. Ultimately, it was the home heroes, the OUE Singapore Slammers that came up tops 26-21 to win the coveted IPTL Championship Trophy and prize money of USD 1 million; the Micromax Indian Aces getting USD 500,000 as runners-up.

Worth reading