Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Union Government launched SAHAJ Scheme

Union Government has launched SAHAJ scheme for online booking of new LPG connections for the consumers as parts of its consumer friendly initiative on 25 january 2016.It was launched by Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Dharmendra Pradhan at a function held in New Delhi.The booking can be done through the unified web portal www.mylpg.in which is available in 13 languages.
SAHAJ Scheme:
SAHAJ facility will enable the customers to post online request for a new connection by filing Know Your Customer (KYC) form by uploading bank account details and photographs. After submitting the details, customer will receive the registration number to know the new connection status. Later, customer can opt for offline or online mode of payment for the new connection. Once payment is done, electronic subscription voucher will be mailed to the new customer. Later distributor will do physical delivery of the Gas cylinder, regulator with hose pipe.Initially, the scheme has been launched in twelve cities.12 cities are Ahmedabad, Bhubaneswar, Bengaluru, Bhopal, Chennai, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Patna, Mumbai and Pune.

Lady Wigram Trophy motor race 2016

The Sahara Force India Academy racer,Jehan Daruvala has won the 2016 Lady Wigram Trophy in New Zealand,one of New Zealand’s most prestigious events. It is the Daruvala’s maiden victory in Formula cars since making the switch from karting in 2015.
About Trophy:
Lady Wigram Trophy is New Zealand’s most prestigious race event held annually. The trophy formerly awarded to the winner of the Wigram Airfield race. It is part of the Tasman Series and classes like Formula 5000, Formula Holden, Formula Three and                                                                                         Formula Pacific.

Interesting Republic Day facts

We start this post by wishing you a happy Republic Day...

We are a nation that is known for its diversity and cultural ethnicity across the globe.

1. Republic Day is celebrated for marking the replacement of the Government of India Act of 1935 with the Constitution of India. The reason for selecting January 26th as Republic Day is that on the same day of 1930, the Declaration of Indian Independence, called the Purna Swaraj, was put into motion by the Indian National Congress.

2. There are just two original copies of the Constitution in the country written in Hindi and English. They have been preserved in helium-filled cases in the Parliament of India. This constitution has been calligraphed and not printed. Such photo lithographic copies are in circulation and only 1000 copies have been written till date.

3. It took two years and eleven months for Dr B.R. Ambedkar and his team to draft the Indian Constitution, the world’s longest constitution.

4. A majority of national awards such as Bharat Ratna, Padma Bhushan and Kirti Chakra are awarded during the Republic Day ceremony.

5. The President unfurls the flag with the 21 gun-salute that involves firing of arms and canons as a naval and military honour. The National Anthem is sung at this time.

6. The Prime Minister honors thousands of Indian Soldiers who died fighting for the Nation. He places a wreath at Amar Jawan Jyoti on the India Gate as a mark of respect to them.

7. The 'Beating Retreat' held on 29th January, marks the end of all Republic day celebrations in the country. The ceremony is held Vijay Chowk where bands of the Indian Army, Indian Air Force and Indian Navy perform.

Worth reading