Thursday, March 16, 2017

Nobel prize in physics

Three British scientists David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz have won the Nobel prize in physics for their work on exotic states of matter that may pave the way for quantum computers and other revolutionary technologies. They will share the 8 million Swedish kronor prize. These trio physicists had worked in the field of condensed matter physics and have discovered totally unexpected behaviours of solid materials. Based on their individual discoveries they came up with a mathematical framework in the field of topology to explain these weird properties. The discoveries have paved the way for designing new materials with all sorts of novel properties that have significant potential revolutionize advances in electronics and future quantum computers.

David J Thouless: He is Emeritus Professor at the University of Washington, Seattle, US.
Duncan M. Haldane: He is the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics at Princeton University, US.
Michael Kosterlitz: He is the Harrison E. Farnsworth Professor of Physics at Brown University, US.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Worth reading